GoodGames

Click HERE to return to homepage.

12/4/15 Entry #7 Rodent Rumble

Now I start the very beginning of making my new game.

I also updated my website, adding logos for the games.

They are a little off the words, but I'm close to getting it to work.

My new game is called Rodent Rumble, and it will be a street fighter-esqhue game, but with rodents.

It's going to be two player, and there will be different rodents to play as.

But before I get into the meat of it, I had to study up on objects, graphics, and movement in javascript.

12/4/15 Entry #6 A Rollercoaster of Emotions

This rollercoaster of a game is coming to an end. However the big finalle is a loop. A "for loop" to be specific.

I decided to end it because I was getting a little bored writing the text adventure game, and my methods were outdated.

So I changed the name to Debt Quest, and made it all about working of your debt.

There are a few different endings, and the score is how many days it takes to work off your debt.

It's a fun little minigame. Next game I make will be something more fun to code. This is like writing a story.

10/9/15 Entry #5 100% Skill; Too Many Choices:

This session I decided to work on randomness.

I learned you can use math.Random to output a random number, and math.floor(math.Random) to output a random integer.

I used this to make a radom price for the inn.

I also added a lot of branches off the main storyline. I used if statements to give choices, like whether to stay at the inn, or carry on, or stay with Hergud, etc.

10/9/15 Entry #4 Functioning Member of Society:

This session I decided to work on functions!

I studied up using w3schools and some codeacadamy.

I learned that not only could functions be used to group information and organize it, it is useful if you want to repeat something.

You can also include a variable in the declaration of the function to use inside the function. This variable is determined when you call the function.

I put functions in to separate the stages of my game so far.

10/9/15 Entry #3 Bug Swatting:

This session I could not figure out why my program did not work.

I put my javascript code into many online code testers. They all returned an error message called "Invalid identifier".

After frustratingly racking my brain about possible mistakes, I decided to painstakingly run my code segment at a time, to find the error-inducing section.

Once I was about to give up, near the very end of my text adventure code, I found the point where it stopped working.

As it turns out, the only thing i did wrong was misplacing the parenthesis on an if statement.

It was a shame I didn't complete much, but I'm glad I learned a few techniques to fix bugs.

10/9/15 Entry #2 The Beginnings:

I have been working on this for a little bit already, so I have accomplished a lot.

I created the website, and a logo. It's called goodgames. I designed the logo in Adobe Illustrator.

Within the website I started my first game, a text adventure. It's called medieval adventure for now, I might change it later.

I'm about 80 lines in and it's going slow, but only because I have to set up the whole system, and get more into javascript.

10/2/15 Entry #1: Project Goals:

Google 20 is an experimental system wherein 20 percent of someones time is spent working on a personal project for a company/class.

My final product goal is a website that I make with games that I also make using java script. I will try to make subsets of games with different genres. I don't know how many games I can create, but hopefully I'll make a lot. The css will look professional. It is called GoodGames.

I chose this project because I like making games, and I like sharing my ideas. I also thought it would be fun to have my own personal website for my games.

I hope to learn about making a website, making games, and using css, html, and javascript conjointly.

I need to know javascript in order to make my website, and I need to know how to make graphics.

I need to know javascript and graphics because I will mostly be using javascript to make my games, and my games will be graphical.

I will learn this using codeacademy, and w3schools.

I anticipate making many games, and actually finishing them as challenging.